Board Member Leadership Training

Completed Mandatory Board Member Training

The following board members have completed the Open Meetings Act (OMA) training as required under 5 ILCS 120/1.05, P.A. 97-504. In addition, they have completed the 4-hour mandatory Professional Development Leadership Training (PDLT) and the Performance Evaluation Reform Act (PERA) training, as required under 105 ILCS 5/10-16a, P.A. 97-8 and 105 ILCS 5/24-16.5 within the first year of their current term. Their certificates, issued by the office of the Attorney General of the State of Illinois, the Illinois Association of School Boards (IASB), or Robbins Schwartz Elected School Board Members Conference, are on file in the office of the Superintendent at 50 Lakeview Parkway, Suite 101, Vernon Hills, Il 60061.

  • Jim Batson
  • Cara Benjamin
  • Don Carmichael
  • Kara Drumke
  • Lisa Hessel
  • Sonal Kulkarni



D128 Board Governance Handbook

The Community High School District 128 Board of Education developed this handbook to establish agreed upon protocols and norms to enhance the mission, vision, and goals of the District.

D128 Board Governance Handbook



IASB Board Governance Recognition

The Community High School District 128 Board of Education received the IASB School Board Governance Recognition award for 2022-2023. As described by IASB, the "School Board Governance Recognition" program acknowledges school boards that learn and practice effective governance behaviors as identified in IASB's Foundational Principles of Effective Governance, through participation in and support for board development programs and events. The primary focus of this program is on full board development and participation. Effective school boards understand that excellence in local school board governance requires full board commitment to obtaining the knowledge, skills, and abilities critical to good governance.


D128 is an active member of the Illinois Association of School Boards (IASB). 

Illinois Association of School Boards Active Member logo